Budget Friendly Shopping at Whole Foods

whole foods

I always hear people say they want to “get in shape” and “go on a diet” and they say that one major barrier for them is the cost. They tell me they can’t afford a gym membership and they can’t afford to shop at Whole Foods. They don’t want to spend tons of money on something if they won’t see immediate results.

Just a friendly reminder that diets DON’T WORK. I could go on and on about this topic, but I’ll save that for another time. What you need is a lifestyle change. You need to change the way you think about food and learn to respect your body.

So today I’m here to tell you how to can afford to buy healthy and organic foods on a budget!

I’m a grad student and I only work part time, so money is tight for me. But like I said in a previous post, I was tired of feeling like crap. One day I decided to finally take a stroll around Whole Foods and wow, was I surprised!

Yes, some items can be expensive but the majority of the items are a reasonable price. Even if you are spending a little bit of extra change, you are getting a quality product that is definitely worth it. Read more about the Quality Standards at Whole Foods here.

Look! Here is my receipt for this week (for one person):

Large Brown Cage Free Eggs – $2.99

1.5 lbs of fresh Organic Broccoli – $4.69

1 Bag of Organic Carrots – $1.69

4 Bananas – $1.12

2 Organic Golden Potatoes – $2.03

4 Organic Fuji Apples – $6.76

1 Block of Sharp Cheddar – $2.49

1 Loaf of Organic Wheat Bread – $3.99

Total with tax = $29.70

That is what I bought today. I already have a lot of other ingredients to prepare my meals for the week. My total is normally between $30 and $50 depending on what I get. Mind you, some items I only have to buy once a month.

This is what my menu normally looks like:

For breakfast I’ll usually have peanut butter toast or eggs with toast. For lunch I’ll either have baked chicken with vegetables or in a wrap. On my days off from work, I’ll have a strawberry banana smoothie with greek yogurt and Vega One powder for lunch instead. For dinner, I’ll have baked chicken or baked fish with vegetables or pasta with tomato sauce and meatballs. Snacks throughout the day are normally an apple, an orange, and a homemade granola bar.

I do try to mix it up as much as I can. For example, I make homemade soup a lot (broccoli cheddar or potato bacon cheddar), and it normally lasts 4 to 5 days. Other times I’ll get salad fixings, but I get bored of salad really quick. I gotta say, Pinterest is my favorite place to find clean eating recipes. You can follow my Healthy Living Recipes board here!

Please, take a chance and wander around Whole Foods and see that you can get great deals (and free samples)! You won’t regret it! Even if you decide to only do some of your shopping there, it is a step in the right direction.

One word of caution, however. Stay clear of the middle aisles! Prepackaged snacks and foods are expensive there. I’m talking about granola bars, cereals, boxed meals. Try to make it homemade by yourself with whole ingredients. It will be cheaper and healthier! I will be posting tons of recipes, such as for my soups, granola bars, and breakfast muffins.

Please Subscribe!

whole foods

Leave a comment below about your Whole Foods shopping experience!

Leave a Reply

