Healthy Homemade Protein Bars 

People may tell you that granola bars are a healthy food, but watch out for the imposters at the grocery store! They are full of unnecessary sugar and ingredients that I can’t even pronounce. What if I told you there was a quick and simple recipe for making your own homemade granola bars in 15 minutes? Keep reading for more!

I purchase all of my ingredients at Whole Foods. I choose to get organic products when I have the money, but conventional is just fine as well!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup milk (dairy, almond, soy)
  • 3 to 4 heaping tablespoons of peanut butter
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons of honey
  • 3 drops of vanilla extract
  • 1 scoop of Vega One chocolate protein powder (any powder works)
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • Chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium saucepan slowly heat up the milk, peanut butter, and honey on low heat.

Stir continuously.

Add vanilla, cinnamon, and protein powder.

Sir again, then turn off the heat.

Next, mix in the rolled oats

FullSizeRender 10

You can also add some chocolate chips. The chips will most likely melt, but it gives the bars a chocolatey swirl texture.

Press mixture in to a lightly greased 8 x 8 glass pan. I grease with coconut oil. Add some more chocolate chips to the top (if you want) and lightly press them down so they stick.

Bake for 10 – 20 minutes depending on your preferred texture. I baked them for 10 minutes and they came out a little gooey (how I like them). Cut in to 8 bars. Store in a tupperware container in the fridge. Keeping them cool hardens them up a bit.

FullSizeRender 11

Now you don’t necessarily have to bake these. I bake them because I think it helps them hold together better.

Let me know how you like the recipe in the comments!

Subscribe for more!

3 thoughts on “Healthy Homemade Protein Bars 

Leave a Reply

